Experiences with SAP Gateway

"My foots always in my mouth i just can't stomach defeet" – Hilltop Hoods

How to: Windows 8 and OData Services in a Metro Style Application

leave a comment »

A couple of people have requested that I share how I created my Metro App.

The services I used were created on my SAP Netweaver Gateway system, I have recreated the application to use the ODATA.org Northwind service and use images from the Telerik demo site.

As I said in the original post I used the following  blog as a guideline, recreating the application I found there were a couple of notable differences so I will start from the beginning.

I downloaded Windows 8 Consumer Preview ISO image and then installed it as a WMWare Workstation, then I Installed Visual Studio 11 Premium edition.

Once installed and activated inside VS11  Click File –> Add New Project. Select the Split Application template under JavaScript -> Windows Metro style.

Then install the datajs package, Tools -> Library Package Manager -> Package Manager Console. Type ‘install-package datajs’.

I didn’t install the jquery package

Inside of default.html add a reference to datajs, I found I needed to add it before other references, there are dependencies in data.js to the sequence.

Next create the data.js code. I kept it simple and retained a lot of the code from the template.

In splitPage.html added some of the additional fields

 <h2 class="article-title win-type-ellipsis" data-win-bind="textContent: title"></h2>
 <h3 class="article-subtitle" data-win-bind="textContent: qty">
 <h3 class="article-subtitle" data-win-bind="textContent: price">

And that’s about it.

To get datajs working in Windows 8 with Netweaver Gateway XML OData services I had to make the following change to return window.DOMParser() instead of the ActiveXObject

The end result should look something like this


					
Written by rsol1

May 20, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

